PDA

View Full Version : The Cooking Pot

jlb2012
10-07-2002, 18:09
At least I don't think this poll has been around yet - what type of pot do you use for cooking?

highway
10-08-2002, 05:38
MSR Titan Titanium kettle, w/lid, 0.85 L capacity, 0.27 pound, {4.32 oz} works (almost) for me.

It is tall and narrow. I wish it were shorter, wider,"squatter" [more surface area to heat, making boil faster?] and with a wee bit more capacity so a 7 oz package of Zatarains or whatever didn't almost fill it up, making stirring with cold fingers so darned difficult!

That distinctive titanium sheen is long gone from it and instead is now dark grey-brownish somewhat, blackish mostly on outside, some black burned spots on inside when I forgot to stir. In other words, my wife would have thrown it out of her kitchen long ago. But for me it's just now "coming of age"!

SGT Rock
10-08-2002, 05:58
Here is what I have been using now for almost two years. The 720 ml size is perfect for ever meal I've ever made. The size keeps you efficnet, the titanum makes it light, built in handles means you don't need a seperate grabber, the price makes it affordable ($39.95), and the curved wide bottom makes it fuel efficient. I only carry the frying pan lid and 720 ml pot:

http://www.snowpeak.com/gear/stw001t.html

Weight with carry sack and without the 570ml pot/cup is 5.4 ounces.

highway
10-08-2002, 07:18
Rock:

Hate to mention the obvious but here is a suggestion to save at least two ounces...

Ditch the carry sack
Ditch the fry pan[unless you are frying trout...Yummmmmm...!]
Ditch that pot

get the lighter and larger MSR kettle,with lid, no carry sack. While hiking, your stove nestles well-protected inside it, along with the lighter to start the stove and the next meal you are going to cook. Now there is no fumbling around wasting time when you get to camp or for breakfast next morning! It's all there, ready to cook!And its simple, just two well-designed pieces.