PDA

View Full Version : Tray Gap to Dick's Creek Gap

FIRFTR911
04-10-2008, 08:50
I'm very new to this site, and need some help. I have been following hikes on Trail Journals for years and will finally have the opportunity to spend some time on the AT this June. I have several questions...

What to bring with for a day hike (water, matches, map, compass?)?
Where is a good spot to stop for lunch?
Is this section of trail exposed, or shady?
Is the trail well marked?
Can you get a cell signal from the Dick's Creek Area?
How long should we expect it to take (we are in average shape at best, and from very flat Chicago)?Also, any other tips or info on this section would be greatly appreciated! I have some "wilderness" experience, but most is from the Boundary Waters, paddeling and carrying a canoe. Sorry for the long post, but I didn't want to start 6 different threads.

bloodmountainman
04-10-2008, 09:04
This section of trail is 16.5 miles from Unicoi Gap to Dicks Creek Gap.
It is a shaded section with open views on the ridge line.
Tray Mt. shelter or Deep Gap shelter are good lunch spots.
Cell phones will work on the ridges.
Carry water or water filter ( several springs to obtain water)
Food ( don't over do this)
Rain Gear
Should be able to cover this ground in a weekend!:welcome

Dances with Mice
04-10-2008, 09:18
Others will chime in:

Things to bring: All that you mentioned plus raincoats, tp & hand sanitizer and water bottle & water treatment of choice.

Lunch depends on when you start - Your hike is about 12 +/- miles, Addis Gap is about 6 miles, Deep Gap is about 8 miles. If you start early, Deep Gap is a nice rest stop.

It will mostly be shady in June.

The Trail is extremely well marked.

I don't know about the phone signal, sometimes it depends on your carrier. I think people call hostels from there so it should be ok. Others might know.