PDA

View Full Version : Food in tents

Bear Cables
05-07-2008, 10:08
The rain thread is evolving into a food in tent thread so I thought I'd start another for that topic if anyone wants to weigh in...Some hikers have no problem eating in or around their tents and shelters and others like me won't ever do it . Does it really make a difference in weather or not bears are attracted to your camp and tent or is it just chance either way? I had this experience while hiking Philmont with my son's scout troop: We were camped at a campsite that had been having bear activity. One of our scouts went to sleep with a packet of hot chocolate in his pocket. Now, nothing happened that night, no bear. When we got back to base camp we were told there had been a bear attack on another scout, same camp area. The boy had a candy bar in his tent. Just lucky and unlucky?

Lone Wolf
05-07-2008, 10:15
i've been sleeping with my food in my tent for 22 years now. never had a problem. i'll never hang it

sofaking
05-07-2008, 10:15
boy scouts attract bears because they are much sweeter and tender, think veal, and don't put up as much of a fight as backpackers, which tend to smell 'off' and are too rangy...
i cook and eat in/around my tent everytime i go out, and have never had problems with bears, the big ones or the little fun sized ones(mice & other rodents)- just be concious about what you are doing and try not to be a slob...and don't use honey as a masque.but if you're really worried about the issue, don't cook or eat near your tent, and bear bag your food a mile up the trail so you get an early start the next morning.

sofaking
05-07-2008, 10:17
i've been sleeping with my food in my tent for 22 years now. never had a problem. i'll never hang it
because you scare bears, you big meanie...

Frolicking Dinosaurs
05-07-2008, 10:21