PDA

View Full Version : Bag too big for a thru-hike?

atsent
05-08-2008, 12:15
I recently bought an Osprey Ariel 60 for my thru-hike next year. The small is at 3800ci. I have some 2-3 day experience (used my Atmos 50) but none for longer hikes. I'm afraid that 3800 ci will be too small and am thinking about upgrading it to an Ariel 70, which at a small will be 4400ci. Is that needed or will I be okay with 38000ci?

I should mention that my hiking style is not minimalist but not overloader- just comfortable.

I am also going SOBO so my concern is starting with the 100 mile wilderness with not enough room for 8-10 days worth of food plus winter gear in a 38000ci. Thoughts?

hopefulhiker
05-08-2008, 12:20
If you judiciously pack you should be OK with 3800ci.. Most likely you will be finding ways to do with less after you hike for a while.... Also it will get warmer... I hiked with 3600 ci...

Just Jack
05-08-2008, 12:27
I am assuming that you live in Atlanta. Drive up to Mountain Crossings at Neels Gap.
Ask Winton or some of the other folkls there for the help that they are famous for--
organizing and packing a pack. They are the closest ones to you that I know of. Their
hands on experience to you will be invaluable.

Phreak
05-08-2008, 12:38
I am assuming that you live in Atlanta. Drive up to Mountain Crossings at Neels Gap.
Ask Winton or some of the other folkls there for the help that they are famous for--
organizing and packing a pack. They are the closest ones to you that I know of. Their
hands on experience to you will be invaluable.

Or see Frank Woods @ the Perimeter REI store. He's a Triple Crown hiker.

bigcranky
05-08-2008, 14:25
Do you mean the Ariel series of women's packs (http://www.ospreypacks.com/Packs/ArielSeriesWomens/), which would be 55, 65, or 75 litres? If so, do you have the 55 or the 65?

Or do you mean the men's Aether packs (http://www.ospreypacks.com/Packs/AetherSeriesMens/), of which the Aether 60 is the smallest?