PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hiking

Wolf - 23000
05-11-2008, 21:12
I'm planning on thru-hiking the BMT this June. I have never done the BMT before. Is the BMT similar to the AT only with less people? Also it would be nice to hike with someone but I don’t see it happening. I travel at a good pace with an extremely light weight backpack. I only have a few days off. What is the average miles/per/day out there?

Wolf

Cuffs
05-11-2008, 21:25
Doesnt the miles per day depend on you?

Phreak
05-11-2008, 21:34
The BMT is more difficult than the AT (in my opinion), but it's still just putting one foot in front of the other.

No one can answer how many miles you'll be able to hike each day. Only you can answer that one.

Have fun on your hike! :)

SGT Rock
05-11-2008, 23:08
My opinion is the BMT is harder than the AT in some places and easier in other places. I am basically talking about the same stretch of the AT equivelent in GA, TN, and NC.

There are no shelters, no hostels, and resupply is a little harder as there's not as many places that are use to hikers coming through. But it is doable to do a thru. There are less people as you point. But some places where the BMT go through you will see lots of people like the Hiwassee river section.

I've got a PDF of my guide I'm writing you can have to do your planning.

I did it in 21 days of walking from end to end. I probably could have shaved some time off that, but hiking in winter and wanting to only walk in daylight limited my mileage. You are in good shape and have a lot of experience, so you can probably do it in 21 or better.

Wolf - 23000
05-11-2008, 23:14
Doesnt the miles per day depend on you?

Cuffs,

The amount of mile you do does depend on you of course but in the end most hikers travel around the same distance. On the AT most hikers traveled around 15 miles/day or 100 miles/week. There are of course the exceptions but it gives an idea of what to expect.

Wolf

Captain
05-12-2008, 01:07