PDA

View Full Version : Help!!

gold bond
05-12-2008, 12:07
I need to know what to do as far as lining my hammock. I have been trying to use my pad but it can be difficult as it slips and slides everywhere which makes for a sleepless night.
Do you guys use your pad? I have a down forty degree bag that I have been using for a "quilt" kinda just unzipping it 3/4 of the way down and putting my feet in it and laying it on me while just laying on my mat. I am obviously doing this wrong as it just ain't a workin"! I have woke up with the pad on top of me or to the side and it slides down to where I wake up cold as my shoulders are off the pad. I am getting frustrated to say the least!:-?

ishmael86
05-12-2008, 12:35
Underquilt! It's insulation which hangs just below you, so it's not compressed and it doesn't move around. You can buy them, but I am making my own right now--check out the website of kickass quilts where you can find directions to make your own. Get insulation from one of a number of outdoor suppliers--I'm using the 5 oz climashield from thruhiker.com

bigcranky
05-12-2008, 12:40
I use a pad. In warm weather a 3/4 ridgerest works fine -- all I need is insulation under my torso. I don't find that I slide off the pad very often.

In cold weather I have used a Ridgerest XL, which is 25 inches wide, and it worked well. But many serious hammockers use underquilts.

jlb2012
05-12-2008, 12:44