PDA

View Full Version : First Time Here....

klpicktown
05-15-2008, 11:47
Hello all, this is my first post as I have recently decided---or dedicated myself--to hiking a portion of the AT next summer (a year from now).

All the information I am soaking in right now is a starting to be overwhelming so I need some focus I guess-----I need to decide on a portion of the the trail to hike. I have a about 3 weeks starting mid June (dates not that firm since I am a teacher). How is the trek from Harper's Ferry to DWG? It seems to fit my tentative time line....

I am defiantly not a full-fledged seasoned hiker but I've been around a bit, thus I am not looking to try the hardest section for 3 straight weeks... I'll be hangin around here for the next year so any and all suggestions are more than welcome. Thanks

4eyedbuzzard
05-15-2008, 11:58
Hello all, this is my first post as I have recently decided---or dedicated myself--to hiking a portion of the AT next summer (a year from now).

All the information I am soaking in right now is a starting to be overwhelming so I need some focus I guess-----I need to decide on a portion of the the trail to hike. I have a about 3 weeks starting mid June (dates not that firm since I am a teacher). How is the trek from Harper's Ferry to DWG? It seems to fit my tentative time line....

I am defiantly not a full-fledged seasoned hiker but I've been around a bit, thus I am not looking to try the hardest section for 3 straight weeks... I'll be hangin around here for the next year so any and all suggestions are more than welcome. Thanks

My vote would be for a different section, perhaps Great Smoky Mountain National Park(GSMNP) and parts of NC/TN/VA, or northern MA/VT/NH toward the end of June early July. For an easier section Shenandoah National Park(SNP) is nice but with more human and road contact. Nothing wrong with the PA section(except the sharpened rocks), just not as nice as some others IMO.

And :welcome

Captain
05-15-2008, 12:30