PDA

View Full Version : permethrin questions

Wags
05-16-2008, 00:04
ok i've already pulled 4 ticks off me this season (not to mention the 100's of 'ghost ticks' i feel on me from teh time i pull 1 off until the next shower i take) so i'm gonna get some of this stuff but have a few questions...

#1 do you buy the spray on stuff or concentrate? is there a more effective approach one way or another?

#2 i've read that while it kills bugs, it is also very toxic to fish and frogs. i'd rather not kill those guys, especially when landscaping and working in ponds around expensive fish and good for teh ecology frogs. once dried into the fabric, will it have to come in contact w/ the fish/frogs to kill them or will my clothes/shoes in the water trigger some badness?

#3 do you guys bother coating your tent/fly/footprint/pack with it? is it worth it and do i need to worry about damaging my gear?

thanks

Bob S
05-16-2008, 00:24
I use the spray, I’ve been using it for several years with great results. I can’t remember a single bug bite through my clothes since I started using it.

I’ve never used the kind you mix up and dip your clothes in so I can’t say how it works.

I do spray my tent with it and it has never caused a problem. I always seem to get spiders in between the tent and the rain fly on the top of the tent. And a few always seemed to find a way into the tent. I started spraying it around the base of the tent and around the door. Since doing this no spiders have made it into the tent and no spiders in the area between the tent and rain fly. I have a small tarp I put on the ground right outside the tent door, I notice dead spiders on it in the morning (that were not there before I sprayed the tent) since spraying the tent with Permethrin.

Can’t say how it works in relation to fish, don’t really care as I’m not going to go swimming with my clothes on.

I’m sold on the stuff.

Bear Cables
05-16-2008, 00:26