PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on cooking systems.

Brooks2009
05-16-2008, 02:36
First off thanks once again to all who have given their two cents on my previous gear questions. In the last month or so I have gone from completely ungeared to purchasing nearly all of the backpacking cornerstones based upon your suggestions and my research. This is what I have so far, in order of what I bought first:

Boots: Vasque Breeze GTX ---------------(2 lb, 10 oz)
Tent: Big Agnes Seedhouse SL2 ---------(3 lb, 6 oz... for a 2 person tent, oww!)
Pack: Osprey Aether 70 -------------------(4 lb, 9 oz)
Bag: Big Agnes Lost Ranger 15 degree --(2 lb, 12 oz)
Pad: Thermarest ProLite4 -----------------(1 lb, 8 oz)

Cooking System: ????????

Word on the street is Jetboil is where its at. The Jetboil Personal Cooking System looks pretty legit from what I can tell, though I've never used something like this before. Any others I should consider? Pro's/Con's of Jetboil? Thanks for the help.

sofaking
05-16-2008, 09:05
your boot weight doesn't matter in terms of your carry weight, although some here may want to differ. a lot of folks use the jet-boil, a lot of folks that are seriously concerned with weight use alcohol stoves. be warned, these people are fanatics, but they know their stuff. check out the homemade gear forum, don't be scared.

Two Speed
05-16-2008, 09:21
Speaking as an alky fanatic I'd offer the opinion that the JetBoil's heavy, but fast, kinda like a backpacker's microwave. If ya really feel the need for speed the JetBoil's where it's at. If you're the kind that can multi-task, attend to minor camp chores while keeping an eye on a alky stove the speed advantage of the JetBoil isn't really all that much of an advantage IMHO.

Suggestion: before laying out the bucks for a JetBoil build a few alky stoves and try 'em out. If you find an alky stove that meets your needs you just saved some bucks that you can use to upgrade another part of your hiking gear.

TFin04