PDA

View Full Version : Filtering Water

awestberry
05-16-2008, 07:54
Just bought a Katadyn Hiker Pro water filter. I've never used a filter before. Does the water need to be running in order to filter or can I filter it out of a lake? Just wondering as the place I'm going hiking at the end of the month has two small lakes and only a couple of intermittent streams.

Peaks
05-16-2008, 08:01
Any source of water will do. Standing water is fine.

Just be careful not to suck up any silt, because that will clog the filter quickly.

sofaking
05-16-2008, 08:50
remember that the out-flow hose goes in your nose...

Alligator
05-16-2008, 10:20
You do the work by pumping it.

jersey joe
05-16-2008, 12:04
You can pump out of standing water but If given the choice, I would still pump from the moving water source.

jlb2012
05-16-2008, 12:31
moving water generally has slightly more silt than calm water but if you use a bag to filter from then its a don't care

in former years when I used a filter I would fill a bag and carry the bagged water back to camp and then hang the bag on a tree and filter there - much easier on the back to do it that way - btw a 'biner and a shoelace make a great hook to hang the bag on the tree.

NICKTHEGREEK
05-16-2008, 12:50
Any source of water will do. Standing water is fine.

Just be careful not to suck up any silt, because that will clog the filter quickly.
Standing yes, stagnant ----rather not

sofaking
05-16-2008, 14:01
oops... i TOTALLY meant to say 'into the water container of your choice as long as you're aware of the weight/durability issues that may/may not be brought to your attention whilst perusing this site'.

take-a-knee
05-16-2008, 14:46

As always a profound observation.

Alligator
05-16-2008, 14:53
As always a profound observation.Let's call a truce here, perhaps you each put the other on ignore for a few days.

Appalachian Tater
05-16-2008, 14:54