PDA

View Full Version : Can't decide (software, maps, GPS...)

rafe
05-17-2008, 10:46
I'm planning 100 miles or so on a remote section of the PCT for which nice, printed hiker-friendly maps are rare or non-existent. The maps in the Schaffer guide are barely adequate, IMO.

I've never owned or used a GPS. I have owned and used two versions of Delorme's Topo USA -- but I don't have the data set for western USA. If I did, I think I'd just print out the maps I need (probably on standard letter-sized sheets) and be done with it.

Delorme has a sale going on now with an Earthmate 20 GPS, bundled with Topo USA, for $300 (after rebate.) Without the GPS, Topo USA, Version 7 is $100. What should I do?

I just can't imagine how one makes use of that tiny LCD screen for navigation. I have no experience using GPS on the trail (or anywhere else, really.) Seems alien, somehow. Am I being a dumb Luddite? Should I take the plunge into electronic navigation?

sofaking
05-17-2008, 10:59
can you find u.s.g.s or b.l.m. maps for it?

OregonHiker
05-17-2008, 11:02
I'm planning 100 miles or so on a remote section of the PCT for which nice, printed hiker-friendly maps are rare or non-existent. The maps in the Shaeffer guide are barely adequate, IMO.

I've never owned or used a GPS. I have owned and used two versions of Delorme's Topo USA -- but I don't have the data set for western USA. If I did, I think I'd just print out the maps I need (probably on standard letter-sized sheets) and be done with it.

Delorme has a sale going on now with an Earthmate 20 GPS, bundled with Topo USA, for $300 (after rebate.) Without the GPS, Topo USA, Version 7 is $100. What should I do?

I just can't imagine how one makes use of that tiny LCD screen for navigation. I have no experience using GPS on the trail (or anywhere else, really.) Seems alien, somehow. Am I being a dumb Luddite? Should I take the plunge into electronic navigation?