PDA

View Full Version : Maine bird walk Sunday

weary
05-22-2008, 10:17
We had a great little walk a couple of weeks ago on one of my town land trust preserves.

So great in fact that we are trying again on a different preserve. This will be a chance to test your knowledge of coastal Maine birds against that of an expert. Or just a chance to learn a bit about spring migrating birds.

As a bonus we will walk to a beautiful wild hilltop pond, that I've been working for 30 years to protect. So if you are within driving distance of mid-coastal Maine, just show up and enjoy a spring walk in the woods.

We are meeting at 6:45 Sunday morning at the Phippsburg Town Hall Parking lot. Take Route 209 south from Bath. The parking lot is about 7 miles south of the 209/Route 1 intersection. If you are coming from the south pick up Route 1 in Brunswick. The exit is the second Bath exit from Route 1. If you are coming from Route 1 north, take the Bath exit and turn south (left) on Washington Street. Washington merges with Route 209 in about 2 miles or so.

Once you are on Route 209 just keep going. After six miles you will pass the Center Store on your right. Keep going. The parking lot is on the left, at the end of a pond. You'll see a school on the right and the 1881 town hall is just across the street. Give me a call at 443-2925 if you have questions.

Weary

emerald
05-22-2008, 14:25
Sorry, too far from The Green Diamond. I'd attend were distance not an issue. I saw 2 kingbirds today or maybe it was only 1 headed for Maine.

weary
05-22-2008, 17:33
Sorry, too far from The Green Diamond. I'd attend were distance not an issue. I saw 2 kingbirds today or maybe it was only 1 headed for Maine.
It's not the kind of walk that will draw people from a distance. Just a gentle walk in the woods across a beaver flowage, up a hill, and to a remarkably pretty pond, surrounded on one end by the remnants of a near old growth forest.