PDA

View Full Version : Long Time Camp Fire User

azchipka
02-11-2004, 02:26
I have always used a camp fire and never once used a camp stove. Which is really funny considering what I do for a living. I would like every ones thoughts on on camp stoves what is the best thing to use, what are advantages, disadvantages, etc.......

steve hiker
02-11-2004, 06:54
The few times I've cooked on a camp fire, had trouble controlling the boiling rate and the pot got all black and coated wtih tar. How do you handle that?

As for camp stoves, you'll get the predictible answers. Weight and simplicity are the main factors. I use an alcohol stove in the 3 seasons and white gas in winter.

Peaks
02-11-2004, 08:49
If you read posts about long distance hiking, you quickly figure out that home made pepsi can stove using alcohol fuel is the stove of choice.

deeddawg
02-11-2004, 09:43
The few times I've cooked on a camp fire, had trouble controlling the boiling rate and the pot got all black and coated wtih tar. How do you handle that?It's been a while since I've cooked over a camp fire, so take this with a grain of salt.

When cooking on a camp fire, contrary to the movies, you would usually build a small fire of relatively small diameter wood (1 to 2 inch max) and burn it until you obtain a decent bed of coals. You cook over these coals instead of over actual campfire flames, either by sweeping the coals between a couple well placed rocks onto which you place your pot -- or in the case of dutch-oven cooking placing the DO directly on the coals while also placing coals on top of the DO.

The downside of this technique is that it takes a bit of time to gather wood, start the fire, let it burn down to coals and then finally get to cook your dinner. It also isn't the easiest thing to accomplish in the rain. After walking all day, most folks would be interested in eating a whole lot sooner than this method allows. However, it is good to know how to do this as a backup.