PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a novice hiker

Elk Cloner
05-28-2008, 17:02
Hey folks. I've done a lot of camping and dayhiking throughout my life, but I've always been interested in taking it a step farther and give backpacking a shot. I've decided that I'd like to take 2-4 weeks this summer and solo hike some of the AT.

My parents however (I'm 19 years old), are kind of worried about this. Their main concern is that I'll become ill or injured and be stuck on the trail unable to get help. I'm in decent shape, very comfortable outdoors, and I'm an EMT so I'm fairly confident that I can take care of myself on trail.

I plan on starting around Port Clinton, PA at the end of June/early July and heading north until I decide to head back home. Probably not the most exciting part of the trail but its not too far from home and seems like a decent place to start.

So these are my primary questions:
-How busy are the mid-Atlantic/southern New England portions of the trail in July? How often should I expect to see people? Will I be sleeping alone every night? Will there be many thru-hikers or will they mostly be past me? etc.
-How safe would you consider this part of the trail?
-Do you think this is a good part of the trail to hike for a first backpacking experience?

Thanks for reading and for any replies.

mudhead
05-28-2008, 17:10
Read the articles that can be found on the home page.

Tell your folks you will check in regularly.

Tell your folks you are thinking about buying a motorcycle.

Pokey2006
05-28-2008, 17:10
Welcome to Whiteblaze!

Picking a section close to home is smart -- it'll be easier for your folks to deal with, too, than if you went to Tennessee or something.

There will be plenty of other hikers out there at that time. Chances are there will be at least one or two others at the shelters every night. Not huge crowds, but enough to keep you company.