PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Bag Temperature rating

Doughnut
05-30-2008, 09:03
I could research this myself but it seems so mauch easier to ask the wise people on WB.

How does a company establish the "temperature rating" for a sleeping bag, and what exactly does it mean? Does it mean I should sleep comfortably or that I will not (or should not) get hypothermic? Ans since some people sleep hot and some people sleep cold, what is used to establish the "norm"?

I have a zero degree, a 20 degree, and a 30 degree bag, each is heavier as the rating decreases (duh..).
I slept in the 30 degree bag when the temp dropped to 40 and I froze my hiney off (that's why I have no hiney anymore).

Thanks for shedding light on this,

Dough Nut

mudhead
05-30-2008, 09:05
Back a few months I read of European standards being developed. Any news of this? (Hope the piggyback is ok.)

Frosty
05-30-2008, 09:39
There are no standards for temperature rating.

Some companies, like Western Mountaineering, have pretty accurate ratings. Others, as you found, appear to use temperature ratings as something with which to attract customers.

The main cost of bags is construction and fill material.

People talk about loft, and it is important, but the way the baffles are sewn and the edge rolls are equally important.

Two ways to do it:

1. Buy an expensive bag (WM, FF, etc) and get a fair rating.

2. Buy a cheap bag but get one rated 15-20* colder than you actually need.

3. (Yeah, I know.) Buy a bag locally during cold weather, and sleep in it in your back yard. If it ain't up to snuff, return it.

Doughnut
05-30-2008, 20:24
[quote=Frosty;633252]There are no standards for temperature rating.

Some companies, like Western Mountaineering, have pretty accurate ratings. Others, as you found, appear to use temperature ratings as something with which to attract customers.

The main cost of bags is construction and fill material.