PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol Stove adise

Bruce Hudson
06-03-2008, 18:57
Short background-- first time backpacking, last summer and spring-break (I'm a 65 year old teacher). Now have hiked between Hot Springs and Adkins. Inspired by the through hikers I met on a 60 mile section outside of hot springs the first of April, this summer's intention is to hike from Springer to Hot Springs without coming off the trail. Out buying new equipment with an attempt to keep it fairly failsafe I've used a Jetboil so far. There will be no urgency this summer and I'm just not happy with the dependence on pressurized cans and the Jetboil-- the simplicity of alcohol stove has great appeal.

Now I've sprung for a Trangia burner and a clikkstand mounting. In the backyard it works great. Any general observations will be appreciated. The biggest question would seem to me to involve how much fuel to carry and how to store it. I tried a Gateraid bottle, but it pours poorly and I'm concerned about the seal rolling around in my backpack.

Thanks in advance.

Bruce

Bob S
06-03-2008, 19:10
The nice thing about the Trangia is that you don’t have to burn all the fuel in it up to put it away. You can just put the lid on it to put out the flame and travel with the stove while it’s got fuel in it. I always take the rubber O-ring out of the cap when I put out the flame, I don’t want to melt or burn it. I put it back in when the burner cools off.

Not knowing your food likes and how many meals you need to cook each day (some people have a cold breakfast & lunch, and only use a stove for dinner) and how much time you will run the stove, it’s hard to say how much fuel to have with you.

I find for me that 3-oz of alcohol works most times.

As far as what to carry it in, I use a Listerine bottle (the small one) it’s very tough and the cap can be used to measure fuel if you need to. I just make a label for it with my label maker.

Grinder
06-03-2008, 20:27
Hey Bruce,