PDA

View Full Version : Need some help deciding where to go...

CKarpy
06-04-2008, 15:24
I'm new to the AT (but not to hiking/camping) and I'm not really sure how things work up there. I want to hike part of the AT for my senior trip with some friends (2 other guys). we want to do 80 - 100 miles in 6 days give or take. I plan to drive because it's easier go get gear there and also cheaper (sort of).

I have a couple questions:
1. Where should I go if I'm new to the AT?
-I normally backpack in Florida so I'm not too used to mountains... at all..
2. Wherever I go, where should I park my car?
-will I be able to leave my car at the trail head for the time of the trip?

I'd appreciate ANY advice or tips you guys could give me!

Thanks a bunch! :D:D

Frolicking Dinosaurs
06-04-2008, 15:29
Since you are not accustomed to mountain climbing, I would recommend you look at the Shenandoah National Park portion of the trail in VA. It has multiple places to access the trailheads via a roadway and parking areas.

Link to the 2007 ALDHA Companion for VA (http://www.aldha.org/companyn/va07.pdf) to give you some idea of what the area is like.

max patch
06-04-2008, 15:39
Couple quick comments as I've already got one foot out the door...

From Orlando you're about 10 hours from Springer, the start of the trail. I'd suggest starting at Amicalola State Park which has an 8 mile blue blaze trail to Springer. You can safely leave your car there all week.

Find a shuttler and get a ride north 60-80 whatever miles north and hike south to your car. Always get the shuttle out of the way first and hike to your car.

If you don't mind driving longer than 10 hours then consider the Damascus area. Thats about another 6 hours from Atlanta; or 14 give or take from Orlando.

I would avoid Great Smokey National Park and the Shenandoah National Park -- too busy and too many rules.