PDA

View Full Version : Jetboil vs. alcholol stove systems

buzz48843
06-05-2008, 15:58
I am planning a thru-hike on the AT for next year and am looking at the jetboil systems vs using a alcholol stove.
What are the advantages and disadvantages of both?
Can you easily get the canister fuel for the Jetboil along the trail?
Can anyone recommend a good alcholol stove?

sheepdog
06-05-2008, 16:06
If you want hot water fast. Jetboil
There is a learning curve to alcohol stoves. I have been messing around with them for 6 months or so. They are fun, they usually work, on a cold nasty day give me a jetboil.

rafe
06-05-2008, 16:16
Jetboil is a sub-class of canister stoves. In short: nothing will get your dinner cooked quicker than a JetBoil or canister stove. The downside to both (and JetBoil in particular) is weight. For reasonably short hikes and resupply intervals, an alcohol stove will yield the lowest overall weight -- the stove itself weighs next to nothing. Alcohol stoves can be a fussy, as others have mentioned. There is indeed a learning curve. IMO the most fundamental issue with alcohol stoves is the inefficiency of the fuel -- at least, when compared to white gas, butane, propane, etc.

Mags
06-05-2008, 16:34
Some info that may help:
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=20055&highlight=stoves+mags

In brief, an alcohol stove is best for ~10 meals or less, solo hiking with simple cooking

Canisters stoves work better for longer resupply, are simpler to use (if with a weight penalty) and work better for couples.

Personally, I think there are better stoves than the Jet Boil for canister use.

Montana Mac
06-05-2008, 16:57
I am planning a thru-hike on the AT for next year and am looking at the jetboil systems vs using a alcohol stove.
Can anyone recommend a good alcohol stove?