PDA

View Full Version : tent footprint, leave or take?

karoberts
06-08-2008, 12:29
I have a BA Seedhouse SL1. The footprint is 5.5oz. Can I leave this?

If I leave it, will water seep through the floor when it rains?

Is the fabric of the floor of the tent so thin that it will likely get torn on a stick?

Can I bring something lighter?

What would you do?

Dingus Khan
06-08-2008, 12:58
tyvek or nothing... i also have a factory footprint for my tent but ditched it a long time ago, it was just too bulky.
im a bit out of the loop since i've been hammocking for 3 years and only use the tents when i have to though, so others will have more current suggestions

Chicken Feathers
06-08-2008, 13:03
tyvek:banana:banana:banana:banana

Toolshed
06-08-2008, 13:23
If you value your tent and want years of life out of it, don't worry about the weight and bring a footprint of some sort. I like my tents to still look like new even after 5 years, so I carry the extra few ounces.

I have seen more than a few folks with stained, muddy, sorry looking tent floors on nice tents. If you don't care, then there is your answer.

While the floor of a tent from a quality tent Mfr should keep you dry for the most part, I'd rather have something disposable take the beating from the ground. Folks have argue over the years about selecting good tent sites, picking up all the stones and twigs first... I do all that, but sometimes I am too tired, hurried wet or cold to get too fussy - Then it's really nice when footprint or sheet of plastic or tyvek can be thrown down first. Much of the loss of waterproofness over time comes from abrasion of you and small particles from inside of the tent.

BTW, I am always using a stick to scrape big fat smooshed slugs off my ground sheets - They were either trapped between the ground and plastic or later got under the tent before I rolled on them and smooshed them. That alone is a good reason to have a groundcloth!!! :D

Cool AT Breeze
06-08-2008, 13:51