PDA

View Full Version : Backpacker Mag seeking thru-hikers

Mike L.
06-11-2008, 08:32
Hi thru-hikers,
I'm an editor at Backpacker Magazine working on a story about thru-hiking the AT, and I'd like to include some tips from veteran thru-hikers. I'm looking for brief (one or two sentences), specific tips related to thru-hiking the AT (NOT tips specific only to the PCT or other trails) that aren't obvious or that someone wouldn't easily stumble upon in any guidebook or this website. For instance, please don't send me an email suggesting "pack as light as possible." Tips specific to thru-hiking in 2008 will not be of use to me because this story will be published after the '08 hiking season. Also, please don't send me questions about my request or my article or questions or comments about Backpacker. I'll definitely write back to people whose tips I like and may use, but I expect the volume of emails I'll receive will be too much to respond to everyone. If you read this after June 20, 2008, don't bother writing to me because my deadline will have passed. We will publish the name and hometown (and trail name if you like) of anyone whose tip we use, so I'll need that information from you. Email me at [email protected] if you have something to share. Thanks.

Lone Wolf
06-11-2008, 08:37
This is right up my alley. I'm the king of pithiness. Although i highly doubt BP would use any of my tips such as no need to treat water or always sleep with your food or no need for Leki poles

JAK
06-11-2008, 08:41
Yeah. Sometimes you really pith me off.

4eyedbuzzard
06-11-2008, 08:46
This is right up my alley. I'm the king of pithiness. Although i highly doubt BP would use any of my tips such as no need to treat water or always sleep with your food or no need for Leki poles

Thanks, LW. I needed some cheering up this morning.

warraghiyagey
06-11-2008, 08:52
I wish I were the King of pithiness. I'm more of a pithant really.:rolleyes:

Frolicking Dinosaurs
06-11-2008, 09:37