PDA

View Full Version : Hiking Pole

Gumbi
06-11-2008, 12:25
I am somewhat new to backpacking and want to try poles. My question for you is, for those of you who have poles, what did you look for in a pole when buying your poles and why did you want those features?

Freeleo
06-11-2008, 12:27
http://www.onlinesports.com/pages/I,OLY-GA448P-3.html?cm_mmc=googlebase-_-Products-_-PPC-_-OLY-GA448P-3

:p

Appalachian Tater
06-11-2008, 12:32
1. Durability
2. Light weight
3. Comfortable grip

Durability includes resistance to breaking while bending as well as a strong locking mechanism so they don't collapse on you. This is by far the most important thing to look for as you can really get hurt if they break or collapse when you are really relying on them.

Depending on your needs, you can get the $10 hiking poles from Wally World if you're not sure you want to use them. Where you live you could probably get ski poles at a thrift shop if you don't mind them not collapsing and can find the right length. (Arms at side, elbow at right angle, forearm parallel to ground)

Normally I don't adjust the length of my poles uphill vs. downhill but change my hand placement on the grip.

deeddawg
06-11-2008, 12:56
Another question: One pole or two?

I use an older version of this REI Hiker Staff (http://www.rei.com/product/745686). I switch hands depending on terrain, trail, mood, etc. I've tried dual poles; quite used to them from cross country skiing (many years ago) but I just prefer the single pole for hiking.

Added benefit - top piece unscrews exposing a 1/4-20 thread that lets me use it as a monopod for my camera. With the staff stuck into decent ground and a light camera it even will stand on its own for a self portrait. ;)

bigcranky
06-11-2008, 13:19
I hiked with one pole for a long time -- a six foot piece of bamboo. Then I tried a pair of trekking poles, and retired the bamboo. For me, one pole was good and two are better.

Appalachian Tater
06-11-2008, 13:21