PDA

View Full Version : water filter, is one necessary?

wolfsbane
06-18-2008, 15:14
hey everyone, Im a newb so I was wondering if a filter was necessary or if you would be ok with just a pre filter and a UV stick to kill bacteria? I love the looks of the new msr hyperflow.... its so hard to not let coolness be a factor haha

Lone Wolf
06-18-2008, 15:17
i've never used a filter or treatment. just drink freely

Tin Man
06-18-2008, 15:26
Drink freely if you know what is uphill and you are sure there are no roads, shelters, privies, houses, farms, beaver ponds, nuclear waste dumps, etc.

Lyle
06-18-2008, 15:26
I usually use Aqua Mira - light, no taste. Occasionally, just drink, no treatment.

Filters are nice, but HEAVY. Also must protect from cross-contamination.

UV is interesting, but need batteries, and not effective in murky water.

Other option is not treating at all, but I don't think people should be trying to convince others of that.

It is all just personal choice and comfort level.

OutdoorsMan
06-18-2008, 15:33
I agree with everything that Lyle posted above.

Tin Man
06-18-2008, 15:35
All of the responses so far should automatically appear every time the question is asked. ;)

minnesotasmith
06-18-2008, 15:44
hey everyone, Im a newb so I was wondering if a filter was necessary...

Aqua Mira (field source of Chlorine Dioxide, better-tasting and more effective than Sodium Hypochlorite/Bleach) works fine. Easily 60% as many recent thruhikers use it as use filters. IMO it's especially more advantageous than filters in winter (no clog/fragility issues) or for ULers.

I'd prefilter your water, though. A bandanna will do. I used coffee filters.

UV sticks? For industrial facilities, where there's one-way flow through under controlled conditions, and QA/QC tests, sure. I don't trust them in a hiking situation.

Lyle
06-18-2008, 15:48