PDA

View Full Version : Winterizing my summer cottage

Jeff
06-21-2008, 09:32
With heating costs going through the roof, I am considering shutting down my summer cottage entirely for the winter months. That means no heat at all. My plummer can drain all pipes and antifreeze the toilet.

My question is what kind of other damage am I opening myself up to? Drywall and paint damage ?? I have no experience at this and would really appreciate input from others who have done this in the past.

THANKS !!!!!

jersey joe
06-21-2008, 09:37
Ever thought about renting out your summer cottage for little to no fee? I know people who do this in their Vermont home. The tennants pay the utility bills. Win/Win.

Jack Tarlin
06-21-2008, 09:38
Talk about your concerns with the plumber, and make sure he understands exactly what you want done.

Make sure your windows and doors seal tight. Consider wrapping the windows over with plastic and tape to keep out moisture.

Be sure your roof is in great shape.

If your cottage is in an area that sees a lot of snow, make sure that it doesn't accumulate on the roof enough to potentially cause damage. Consider hiring a local caretaker to check the property periodically or do it yourself if it isn't too far away.

A properly sealed house with a good roof should not suffer any paint or wall damage while you're awy.

KirkMcquest
06-21-2008, 09:42
My family used to drain the pipes, etc every year in our beach cottage. Did it every year for about 40yrs. The last ten years or so, I noticed a problem with mold ( moisture building up). It was pretty costly to fix, but I was renovating anyway. It took a REALLY long time for this problem to develop and the place is near the ocean, receiving alot of precipitation and moisture year round.

Tin Man
06-21-2008, 09:48
As was said, sealed tight is very important.

Make sure somone is checking the place regularly. You don't want any natural or man-made damage or breakin's to go unnoticed.

Appalachian Tater