PDA

View Full Version : Fuel bottle size

saimyoji
06-29-2008, 12:34
So I just bought (haven't received yet) a Simmerlite (on sale at EMS for $80) for winter use, and I'm thinking about the fuel bottle. I typically don't do more than a night or three during the winter months, but have no problem going out when its real cold and precipitatious.

So my question: Should I go with the 11 oz or 22 oz fuel bottle? I know there are many factors affecting fuel consumption, but for cooking three meals a day, maybe melting snow for water, about how much fuel can I expect to use over a three day period?

saimyoji
06-29-2008, 12:36
Let me add that I have zero experience with a WG stove, haven't even lit one yet. ;)

Thanks.

Lyle
06-29-2008, 12:42
If you are planning cooking three meals a day, and melting snow for water for three days, I would start out with the larger, see where it gets you. If that was overkill, then you just don't fill it all the way next time.

On the other hand, for one night, the smaller would be plenty. Buy both.

Sly
06-29-2008, 13:14
I used a Whisperlite and an 11 oz bottle on both the AT and PCT without ever running out of fuel cooking breakfast and dinner. Longest resupplies were about a week.

saimyoji
06-29-2008, 13:41
From the website: 1 oz of fuel will boil 1.5 L of water. So using an 11 oz bottle, it will boil 16.5 L. Over three days, thats 5.5 L/day. Of course, thats only water boilage, but you'd think it'd be enough right? :-?

woodsy
06-29-2008, 16:22
I've got the whisperlite (simmers close cousin) . Have the 22oz. bottle, wishing I had the 11 for short outings. Was thinking about buying the 11 oz. recently until I saw the price.

rafe
06-29-2008, 19:06
Whisperlite with 11 oz bottle... if used conservatively (3 cups H20 boiled per day) should last a solo hiker at least three weeks, I'd say.

saimyoji
06-29-2008, 19:13