PDA

View Full Version : Lost up "north"

Jimbo0104
02-24-2004, 21:09
I grew up in the Smokies in East Tennessee and for some unknown reason I chose to go to school in Annapolis MD. (it seemed like a good idea at the time). Now that I'm in my second year (and still getting used to the absense of sweet tea) I'm finding a lot more time to pursue my interests, namely I want to get back in the mountains with my pack and sleeping bag. The problem is I'm really unfamiliar with the trails here "up north" so I'm timid to just go out as I am typicaly confined to weekend hiking during the academic semesters. I'm looking for any ideas of trails to hike both day and overnights or anyone in the area who'd like to get together and show me around.

Go easy,
Jimbo

Kozmic Zian
02-24-2004, 21:56
Yea......Jimbo. Head up to Harpers Ferry, find the ATC Headquarters. They'll give you lots o' information about where and how to hike The AT. Also, you could call or hook up on line with the PATC (Potomac Appalachian Trail Conference). If you need web-sites or p #'s email me. Also, The Great Falls Hiking Trails up the George Washington Parkway on the VA. side. Good Hiking. KZ@
[email protected]

Skyline
02-24-2004, 22:29
You're not THAT far from Hiker Heaven, i.e., Shenandoah National Park (500 miles of trails including 100 miles of the A.T.) and George Washington National Forest. Do a Google search for either one and your spirits will be awakened.

Moon Monster
02-24-2004, 23:50
I've often wondered where the sweet tea line (analagous to Mason-Dixon line) is. It appears to be a gradual fade out around No. VA and Maryland. I'm in the DC area, so I suffer. If you have any Chick-Fil-As nearby, though, they have some smackin good sweet tea.