PDA

View Full Version : AT thru-hikers who also hiked PCT

grrrhaha
07-12-2008, 22:07
Was curious to hear from those who have thru-ed both trails. Major differences between the 2? Challenges unique to each trail? Gear carried etc...
I have read a few articles on this...but I am rather new to WHITEBLAZE, so if there are some must-read posts would be great to know which ones.
--Thx in advance, Kor.

rasudduth
07-12-2008, 22:39
PMAGS stuff is pretty good.

http://www.pmags.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=21&Itemid=30

A-Train
07-12-2008, 23:13
Mags has put in a lot more time and effort, but I'll give my 3 cents.

As someone said, the two are both long trails and basically that is where the similarities end. That, and they both have great communities associated with them.

I have such fondness for both of them. I supposed it's like trying to compare your children. The AT, as my first, is a special experience that I will always look back on with envy. I was 19 and it was my first big adventure and a real watershed moment (halting college) and realizing (for myself) that I didn't have to play life by other people's rules and expectations.

While I hiked the AT in a very rainy year, and hiked the PCT in what is considered one of the easiest years ever, I still felt the PCT to be much more of a mental challenge. I also hiked the PCT with a friend for 1800 miles which was a complete change.

The PCT for me was very mentally challenging, because you are constantly switching your gameplan. You start in the desert with a unique schedule, approach, clothing, gear and then it all changes when you get to the Sierras. Physically you tackle the 2 toughest sections (desert and Sierra) in the beginning, although if you can persist through this, the rest gets easier.