PDA

View Full Version : New to the Trail...Looking for Advice

ErikSuch
07-17-2008, 12:59
Hi everyone...i am new to the world of hiking and looking for some advice.

I am planning a short hike around mid-late August (maybe 4-5days). I live in western pennsylvania, so i plan on getting on the trail in PA. Maybe near the wind gap? Not sure yet.

Anyways...i have NEVER been hiking before and im just looking for some advice on my first trip. I have the major essential such as pack, tent, sleeping bag, and basic clothing. But have not purchased anything else such as coooking supplies.

If anyone has some free time that they could help me out with some gear advice or any other things i should know that may be important for a 4-5 day hike, please let me know.

Untill then ill be surfing the other topics and hopefully getting some good ideas.

Thank you so much...and happy hiking!

Erik

ki0eh
07-17-2008, 15:18
:welcome

Read the Articles on this site - under "Thru Hiking Info" on top of the page click then click on "Prep Articles" and that will get you the list.

You will find many opinions on here and might find it difficult to sort through what works for you.

The Wind Gap area is very rocky and a ways away from your locale northeast of Pittsburgh. As it happens you might find better scenery for less pain and certainly less driving distance by trying your first hike on the Laurel Highlands Trail. Clock on the "Other Trails" forum to see reports from folks on WB who've walked that before. You might also want to try out the A.T. in Shenandoah National Park (SNP) or perhaps the Quehanna Trail north of DuBois on a shakedown cruise. The QT is loop with several cross connectors so you can adjust to lesser or greater length depending on the conditions you encounter.

Regardless of what you do, we'd love to hear about it, and do come back now!

freebird'08
07-17-2008, 15:57