PDA

View Full Version : Underestimating a thruhike of GSMNP?

thelaststop
07-31-2008, 13:27
Hi everyone,
Glad to have finally found what seems to be the definitive forum on hiking in the Appalachians. I am currently a college student, and so have pretty limited free time outside of the summers. This summer has been jam-packed and I'm actually getting the opportunity to climb Kilimanjaro in about 2 weeks...should be exciting. For this coming fall break I and a friend or two were thinking about doing a thruhike of GSMNP from Fontana Dam to Davenport Gap. The problem is that we would only have 4 full days of hiking. We could get to Fontana Dam on late Friday afternoon, and possibly hike to the first shelter. We would then have Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday to get to Davenport Gap and rendezvous with our second car. I realize from the start that this would be a very strenuous hike and am not expecting it to be a cake-walk in the slightest. We are all young guys (early 20s) with prior backpacking/climbing/rucking experience and in good shape. Is the pace that would be necessary to make this happen even feasible (seems like roughly 18 miles a day from what I've worked out)? Would it even be remotely enjoyable, or is this simply too fast?

I realize this varies greatly on our own abilities, but I was wondering if anyone has heard of this route being done in this short of an amount of time.

Sorry for the lengthy first post.
I'll reward with tales of Kili, hopefully.

Thanks a lot

Lone Wolf
07-31-2008, 13:34
totally feasible. the smoky's aren't that tough especially the northern half. barring no bad weather you should cover the distance no problem

max patch
07-31-2008, 13:37
Theres better trails in the GSMNP than the A.T. If I was going to spend 4 days hiking there I'd get a book -- although I'm sure you'll get suggestions here -- and research the alternatives. I think you'll have a better hike if you do so.

rafe
07-31-2008, 13:42