PDA

View Full Version : Footprint for tent

RememberYourZen
08-01-2008, 11:20
Hey all,

I've got a Mountainsmith nitro tent but do not have a footprint for it. Would it be in my best interest to try and get a footprint? Or would my tent typically be ok without one?

I used to work at the storehouse for my school and we had some material that we could cut to make our own footprints, I could potentially do that as well to save some cash.

Pedaling Fool
08-01-2008, 11:25
I got a Kelty Teton2 tent, not exactly top-of-the-line. I started out using footprints, but soon found they are a waste of time and money. My tent is doing just fine w/o the FP after 3 long-distance hikes and 2 cycling trips.

Lyle
08-01-2008, 11:26
Not familiar with your particular tent. I've been using tents and tarps for many years, have never owned a footprint for any of them. Plastic of varying types has always been more than sufficient for me.

Many newer tents however are designed to take advantage of a "fast pack" option where you can leave the tent body at home and carry only the poles and fly. My understanding is that these require the footprint in order to hold the poles in proper position. If this is the case with your tent, then the footprint would be necessary in my opinion, since this is a great feature of newer tents.

RememberYourZen
08-01-2008, 11:29
I got a Kelty Teton2 tent, not exactly top-of-the-line. I started out using footprints, but soon found they are a waste of time and money. My tent is doing just fine w/o the FP after 3 long-distance hikes and 2 cycling trips.

Our storehouse carried those tents. I actually liked them alot despite the fact that they aren't "top-dollar." Mine isn't top-dollar either but it's definitely held it's own.

Not familiar with your particular tent. I've been using tents and tarps for many years, have never owned a footprint for any of them. Plastic of varying types has always been more than sufficient for me.