PDA

View Full Version : What Would You Do?

ct1974rlw
08-14-2008, 09:16
Okay, without airing it all out here-need some advice.

I just got back from hiking for 8 days. I am an experianced hiker and take as many precautions as ness. to be safe-however, I am still learning. I mentioned last night to my significant other that I am shooting for a thru hike in 2011. This was not recieved well. He does not share my love of hiking/camping (his idea of camping is the Hilton) and the one time I brought him out on the trail, he lasted 2 hours before heading back out to his car to go home because he hated it that much. Everytime I plan a trip-he gets angry about it. (he is always invited but if looks could kill....) So, suprise was no suprise when he presented this to me....

So I was given a choice-either him or the trail (and yes, he does mean NO hiking whatsoever and he will NOT budge). His reasoning is that it isn't safe for a woman and not glamorous. Ok-wasn't out on the trail to be all glamorous-in fact I could care less if I got muddy and began to sweat....I'm out on the trail because it is te thing that I love to do. It's healthy and wonderful for the soul. He knew this coming into the relationship.

I responded to him-what if I choose hiking? He just shrugged his shoulders and said "it's your loss...." LOL...Hiking is a loss?? That is a hard line to get me to buy. :-?

What would you do?

No offense to anyone but I think I am ready to get back on the trail and start humming the song to myself "Hit the road Jack...." and not look back...Reminds me of that country song that his gf leaves him over fishing "Oh, look and I got a bite....."

-R.

jesse
08-14-2008, 10:08
if there are no kids involved, looks like a no brainer. his loss!

karoberts
08-14-2008, 10:15
Nevermind the hike issue, he sounds like a total control freak. He is manipulating you. Better to get rid of him now.

Old Hillwalker
08-14-2008, 10:16