PDA

View Full Version : Hi All, New to the AT and we're doing an overnight

ajrocks
08-14-2008, 14:40
Okay, first off I'm new to iking, have done basic mile to 4 mile day hikes, been a few years....we've been camping the past 6 weekends to get ready to hike the trail.

I realize all the posts I have read people are hiking for a week to longer...but we are heading out this weekend, tomarrow to head to DWG, parking and we are going to hike for a day, maybe a day and a half then head back. Two maybe three overnights. Friday Sat and possibly Sunday.

We have our gear and we are psyched to go!

The question I have is do we have to go a certain distance to be able to camp?

We wanted to do the Gap canoe thing but you are suppose to go about 14 miles total and we have no way to go back up the river. We have thought about parking one car somewhere and then dropping the other car at the start point..

We have gotten rid of the kids for two weeks so this is our big weekend.
IS there anything we should know?
Thanks for the info, also all the great stuff on the site!

ajrocks
08-14-2008, 16:10
mmm maybe I should reword and add to the question....

I'm 42 she's 39, we are a bit out of shape so our daily milage won't probably be that far...as I mentioned above to conoe and camp the DWG you're suppose to go 14 miles....

As far as hikinh goes I'm thinking we might be able to 5-7 miles in a day...
So we hike a couple of miles friday, we probably won't get too far, it's suppose to thunder and rain...and we have to drop off the mini in mahawah for repair..
so maybe three hours of hiking friday...saturday we can hike most of the day, make camp, then sunday head back. camp that night then finish monday morning...have to be in trenton by 3.

Is there anything we need to be aware of...can we camp in open spots or do we have to stay to the tent spots listed in the book and maps?

Also we are heading towards/into PA..