PDA

View Full Version : tracfone

k-n
08-19-2008, 09:27
has anyone used the tracfone? any problems with it or the plans offered?

Lyle
08-19-2008, 09:45
I've been using TracFone for about 6 years now. Absolutely no problems. Great service, simple, cheap. I don't use my cell very often, so I only worry about the basic functions. If you are a frequent user, one who keeps the phone planted in your ear, it probably won't be economical for you.

I purchase an annual airtime card each year. This gives me 12 months of service and 400 - 600 minutes of service (depending on the special offered). Usually costs about $120/year.

Excellent option if you are only interested in having a phone available for occasional use. Great for travelling since there are virtually no pay phones any more.

Recommended.

Kerosene
08-19-2008, 09:46
My wife has been using TracFone for 5 or so years now as an infrequent just-in-case phone. Seems to work fine. She tries to wait until they offer big bonuses to purchase additional minutes once or twice a year. No experience outside of major metropolitan areas and interstates.

Gumbi
08-19-2008, 09:48
Yes, I have used a tracfone before.
On the plus side, the coverage is excellent because it will run off any cell tower.
On the minus side, minutes are expensive, sometimes as much as 50 cents a minute, and unless you buy more minutes every other month, you lose the minutes you have. There are no plans to be stuck with, just the initial purchase of the phone and buying minutes at walmart or wherever.
Some friends and I bought one with 300 minutes just for emergencies when we travelled to Witchita to volunteer at some homeless shelters during spring break. Worked great!

Lyle
08-19-2008, 10:08
Yes, I have used a tracfone before.
On the plus side, the coverage is excellent because it will run off any cell tower.