PDA

View Full Version : Much Ado About Chafing: ()()

Homer&Marje
08-19-2008, 22:03
I am a big guy, about 230 lbs, so I sweat a lot, huff and puff a bit and get some serious chafing sometimes. I work in a restaurant so am used to moving around quite a bit, have had the problem many times at work and found that being liberal with baby powder before the shift is crucial, especially on hot, humid days. It's quite inconvenient really to put baby powder on while on the trail, I can start out with it, but is the solution I am looking for Vaseline and not powder, rather the reverse effect?? Any miracle cures? Any opinions will help.

Less Chafing = Happier Trails

Nicksaari
08-19-2008, 22:04
gold bond, the yellow or green bottle. they make travels sized. FEEL THE ICE!!!!!!

Sleepy the Arab
08-19-2008, 22:11
I only get chaffing problems in the most humid and hot conditions, but when I do I've found zinc oxide to be a godsend.

rafe
08-19-2008, 22:17
You aren't wearing cotton undies, I hope. Try a pair of body-conforming boxer shorts... non-cotton. I use Gold Bond or Glide when the going gets rough -- but very rarely need either, these days.

Footslogger
08-19-2008, 22:41
I am a big guy, about 230 lbs, so I sweat a lot, huff and puff a bit and get some serious chafing sometimes. I work in a restaurant so am used to moving around quite a bit, have had the problem many times at work and found that being liberal with baby powder before the shift is crucial, especially on hot, humid days. It's quite inconvenient really to put baby powder on while on the trail, I can start out with it, but is the solution I am looking for Vaseline and not powder, rather the reverse effect?? Any miracle cures? Any opinions will help.

=======================================

I think you'll find that vaseline is NOT the way to go. It actually causes the skin to thicken and can cause friction and more iritation ...plus, it doesn't allow air to get at your skin.