PDA

View Full Version : Hex 2 advice request

Texas Dreamer
03-10-2004, 11:17
My first (sort-of) post. I tried yesterday but must have done something wrong, I'm new to computers.
After reading a lot of gear reviews I had finally decided on the Hex 2, only to find it discontinued in favor of the Hex 3. Now I have located one, but only the shelter, not the nest. I was planning on using mostly the shelter by itself anyway, but as I will be doing a lot of summer Texas trips, the bug nest will probably be neccesary. The price on this shelter is VERY good, but if I go ahead and buy it, what are my chances of ever finding a nest? Do y'all ever see them up for sale? And what about the possibility of just hanging a piece of mesh inside, India Style? Having not actually seen the shelter yet, it's hard to imagine how this could attach, or if it would interfere with the progress of condensation on its way down the sides to the ground (one of the selling points of the hex, in my opinion). Any advice from Hex owners or others greatly appreciated.

walkon
03-10-2004, 12:08
i own and used a hex 3 on my thru hike in '03. i did not use a nest or floor, opted instead for a small tarp as a ground sheet. as far as bug netting goes, you have a couple options. if you wanted to hang some netting you could put it between the pole and the apex of the hex. there are also 3 guy points inside the shelter which are to spread the nest or you could use them for your net setup.
but...
if you stake your hex down well few bugs (not including ground crawlers) can get in as they usually congregate up high. usually.
also, if you use trekking poles, leave the golite pole at home. you can hang the hex from a tree. i used my trekking poles for setup many times. 3 velcro strips to secure the poles together as one is not quite long enough. you have to play with this a bit to get it just right, positioning the strips to provide adequate support, but my setup withstood some great storms and left me impressed.