PDA

View Full Version : Straw Hat Vs. Scientific Hat

SunnyWalker
09-07-2008, 17:31
:sun Poll here: When hiking do you like to use a: Straw hat, cloth type of hat that is "scientific" (made from hi-tech cloth for hiking=High price), or a cotton (cheap) hat? Baseball cap? Do you ever use a rain hat (water proof) or do you just go without or use your existing hat in the rain?
-SunnyWalker

If you are intrested check out: sunbody.com

Pedaling Fool
09-07-2008, 17:43
I use a cotton (nothing special) cycling cap and only when I am subject to walking into the sun. Don't bother with headgear for the rain. I like the cycling cap because it's not bulky like a baseball cap and the visor is readily flipped up for greater field of vision, when needed.

minnesotasmith
09-07-2008, 17:54
1) I work hard so I can afford the gear I want.

2) Straw is made of cellulose. So is cotton. Straw hats also have lots of holes of semi-random sizes, which let in bugs and rain.

3) I'm a scientist.

A "scientific" hat for me...

WetBottom
09-07-2008, 19:52
When I saw the title of this thread I thought for sure it was some sort of philosophical question.

Now I just have to dream up what that would be...

Kerosene
09-07-2008, 20:09
Nylon baseball cap weighing an ounce, with a nylon brim that it protects my glasses from most rain without deforming as most cotton ballcap brims would.

Gray Blazer
09-07-2008, 20:22
Florida Gator Cap.

Dances with Mice
09-07-2008, 20:34
Fur felt. Cool in summer, warm in winter, waterproof any time of year. Been used by a couple thousand years by folk who live outdoors.

daibutsu
09-07-2008, 20:48
army boonie hat.

Jason of the Woods
09-07-2008, 20:50
I wear a buff. I've never found a use for a hat.

Hooch
09-07-2008, 20:54