PDA

View Full Version : Winter hiking question

Sharkey
09-09-2008, 02:26
I'm preparing to do some winter hiking in February/March of 2009 and I am trying to make some final preparations. In consideration of weight, and costs, I am trying to use as much of my present gear as possible. (most of it is 3 season gear). I have a 30 degree sleeping bag (S.D. Lazer) and a liner. The liner manufacturer states it adds 15 degrees to the sleeping bag. It works well but 10 degrees sounds more realistic. So, I'm good to about 20 degrees. I have considered getting the MontBell Thermawrap jacket and pants. 1)Are these items effective? 2)Would it work using the present sleeping bag, liner and these items on cold nights or would I be better off just getting a sleeping bag with a lower temperature rating? I am trying to keep the weight and costs down but don't want to sacrifice safety. Thanks ahead of time for your input.

Baby Blue
09-09-2008, 02:43
Alot has to do with where you will be hiking in Feb. and how long you will be out for.

Jim Adams
09-09-2008, 02:44
Probably work but then more to carry. Try looking on ebay for a lower temp, low cost bag. there are some outragous deals to be had at times and you have till feb. to get one.
If I was hiking in Georgia in Feb., I would carry a 0* bag but thats just me.

geek

Chatter
09-09-2008, 06:29
Baby Blue's question is right on the mark - i.e. where you will be hiking.

Hiking in February near where you live in the South is much different than Winter hiking here in the Northeast in range of New Hampshire's White Mountains. For example, your bag and liner may keep you warm at 20F, but February conditions in the Whites demand something more in the order of a minus 20F bag.

Lots of other differences too, depending on the "where" part of your hiking.

Egads
09-09-2008, 06:43