PDA

View Full Version : 30 Degree bag reasonable?

OTdarters
09-25-2008, 17:26
Could one expect to do the entire trail with a 30 degree bag?
I have a 30 degree bag that I'm very comfortable with and would like to use, so long as it won't get to cold.

Thinker
09-25-2008, 18:21
I used a 30* the entire way this year, Started in March, ended in early September. There may be a few cold days at the beginning, but grin and bear it and you'll come out ok. Good luck to you!

BookBurner
09-25-2008, 18:24
Rainsuits, extra clothes, and especially gloves and a hat can really extend the bag's rating on those especially cold nights.

Lone Wolf
09-25-2008, 18:25
I have a 30 degree bag that I'm very comfortable with and would like to use, so long as it won't get to cold.

if you sleep in a tent it's totally doable

Yahtzee
09-25-2008, 19:43

Shouldn't be a problem. If you get cold, put on your clothes before slipping in the bag.

Blissful
09-25-2008, 19:48
I'd be somewhere else if the temp drops to single digits which it certainly can in March (we hit 8 degrees in mid March, but we were in Franlkin then). You're taking a risk, IMO. After April 15 should be safe though.

max patch
09-25-2008, 19:54
You'll (probably) freeze your azz off.

old school
09-25-2008, 20:25
If I was to it again I would start with a 0 degree bag...man it gets cold out there

Thinker
09-25-2008, 20:31
I hit single digit temps several times in the beginning with my 30* bag and was fine with some extra layers on. It all depends on how warm or cold of a sleeper you are. It can be done and it can be done comfortably.

rafe
09-25-2008, 20:37
30 degree bag.... probably OK if you're starting after mid-March or so. You'll have a few cold nights but you'll survive. Helps to have an extra layer or two for those situations. In summer, the bag will be too hot, unless you can unzip it and use it as a quilt.

Haiku
09-26-2008, 03:10