PDA

View Full Version : How sturdy are the platypus bag?

Stir Fry
09-28-2008, 16:30
No one local to me has one without a 30-mile drive. I would like to see what white blazers think.

rafe
09-28-2008, 16:34
Sturdier than they look. I've had no problems with mine, knock wood.

Phreak
09-28-2008, 16:39
I've used 3 and all of 'em have split on me during hikes. I stick with Camelbak now.

Jack Tarlin
09-28-2008, 16:43
A few years ago they had so many leakage problems that every decent outfitter on the Trail was stockpiled with free company supplied replacements.

And as for sturdiness, Platypus bags are swell. Until you drop them.

Then they explode.

If you're talking about using smaller bags, you might be better off just using soda or Gatorade bottles, which can be periodically replaced. And if you're looking at larger waterbags, check out the ones made by MSR. I've been using mine for over ten years and it's as good as new.

Jim Adams
09-28-2008, 16:48
I've had 2 of them leak around the needle holes on the sewing

geek

Stir Fry
09-28-2008, 16:48
Looking to reduce weight, and 6 oz 2 L is the wrong direction for me. Any way to make them lighter?

Phreak
09-28-2008, 16:54
Looking to reduce weight, and 6 oz 2 L is the wrong direction for me. Any way to make them lighter?
Not really. I'd go with what works and cut weight somewhere else.

Egads
09-28-2008, 17:43
I've had 2 failures w/ Platys. They have changed the composition of their bags to a much softer material. Tubes are different now too.

take-a-knee
09-28-2008, 17:46
A few years ago they had so many leakage problems that every decent outfitter on the Trail was stockpiled with free company supplied replacements.

And as for sturdiness, Platypus bags are swell. Until you drop them.

Then they explode.