PDA

View Full Version : Brasslite Turbo II-D Backpacking Stove

WalksInDark
09-29-2008, 19:16
:-?I am a newbie backpacker who wants to "lighten my load" when I am by myself (year round) or with one other person in the Summer.

Having looked at a bunch of alcohol stoves I have tentatively decided to go with the Brasslite Turbo II-D Backpacking Stove. However I have a few questions:

1) Is it worth while to get the stainless steel stand extensions?
2) What would the best size plus material to use for a wind screen.
3) What size pot would allow me to store the brasslite plus the windscreen inside?

Any assistance would be appreciated.

WalksInDark

P.S. In winter my Bro and I split the weight of a white gas stove, so this stove is just for my lighter weight outings.:banana

JimM
09-29-2008, 23:20
1) Not sure, mine does not have them.
2) I used aluminum flashing to make my windscreen. It's not quite as high as the pot itself. When the pot is sitting on the stove, it extends part way up the side of the pot. I also cut a piece of flashing a little larger than the base of the pot. I use it under the stove. It helps stabilize the stove and reflects the heat. It works well for me in winter temperatures also.
3) I use a MSR Titan pot with a reflex pot cozy I made. I wrap the windscreen around the pot and slip both inside the pot cozy.

Jim

MileMonster
10-02-2008, 13:19