PDA

View Full Version : Few days on the LT for a beginner

09-30-2008, 20:37
Hello. I was hoping to spend about 5 days on the LT in October with a friend. Any suggests for a 30-40 mile hike? I am a newbie but my partner is pretty experienced. Thanks.

earlylight
09-30-2008, 22:46
Rt 9 to Rt 11/30 is a nice stretch, approximately 40 miles long. It's on the AT so it will be easier than up north. You'll have to climb glastenbury and stratton mountains, which will give you great foliage views since they both have fire towers on them.

Tinker
10-01-2008, 01:16
Rt 9 to Rt 11/30 is a nice stretch, approximately 40 miles long. It's on the AT so it will be easier than up north. You'll have to climb glastenbury and stratton mountains, which will give you great foliage views since they both have fire towers on them.

I agree.

North of Rte. 4 the trail gets tougher. Between 11 and 4 there are a lot of road crossings and the trail seems less remote.

Quoddy
10-01-2008, 08:19
The Rt 9 to 11/30 is an excellent suggestion for a relatively easy hike with some good scenery. To make it even easier, do it SOBO. IMHO it's a bit too easy for a 5 day hike unless you plan to keep your mileage extremely low. I've done this section 4 times, 3 times NOBO and once SOBO.

If you wanted to do a challenging section in the heart of the LT, and you are at least in reasonable condition, you might shoot for Appalachian Gap (Rt 17) to Smuggler's Notch (Rt 108). It's 42 miles and took me almost 5 full days at a relatively easy pace. You'd see some of the more spectacular spots on the LT including Camels Hump and Mount Mansfield. This section does entail numerous climbs, decents, and some scrambling. Re-thinking this, it may be a bit too much to bite off as a beginner.

oruoja
10-02-2008, 17:45