PDA

View Full Version : Any hiking grandmas out there?

DebDay
10-01-2008, 00:24
:-? HI! I'm new to this site and LOVE the Female forums!!! ......

I am new to hiking only doing day hikes locally but am seriously considering a thru hike (northbound). My family thinks I'm nuts because ...

1. I am a woman and its not 'safe' to hike distances alone
2. I'm a GRANDMA and...
3...I'm a GRANDMA .....LOL!

Any other grandma hikers out there? Do you hike alone and how do you deal with family objections?

THANKS!

fancyfeet
10-01-2008, 00:45
:welcome Deb, it happens all the time (hiking grandmas). If you have a chance, look up "Grandma Gatewood". She was the first female AT thruhiker at age 67. And she didn't stop there. See pic below.

I'm not a grandma, but I hike long distances alone. I haven't had any significant problems. BTW, nearly all thruhiker's families think they're nuts... :p

DebDay
10-01-2008, 00:52
FancyFeet...Thanks for the reply....I am tackling hiking at all as a 'late bloomer' to the outdoors. Family obligations presently keeping me close to home as a primary caregiver to my 96 year old grandma but whenever a thru hike discussion comes along my family rolls their eyes and says 'no way...you'd be nuts'! Well...they should know by now I am...LOL. One day I'll simply leave a 'hiking Georgia to Maine note and send post cards! I've read about Grandma Gatewood and even shared her story with family. My daughter says if I 'runaway' she'll know where to start looking!....Thanks again for the welcome!

Pokey2006
10-01-2008, 00:58