PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Bag suggestions

itsallgoodchuck
10-07-2008, 16:16
Hi, I am a newbie to the boards and have only ever done summer camping. I'm planning on an AT thru hike in 2010.
I have been browsing a lot of threads and there are many mixed ideas so was hoping I could gather a few in one spot without much arguing.
Was wondering if you could suggest a few sleeping bags. Im not sure whether I will go with synthetic or down. Also im mostly looking for a very light bag at an affordable price. I havnt figured out what that price is yet though lol. I am a pretty hot sleeper and a skinny 5'10". If you guys have a link that would be great as well. Thank you in advance.
Chuck

Lone Wolf
10-07-2008, 16:20
i've had this bag for a few years. no complaints, great bag at the price.
http://www.campmor.com/outdoor/gear/Product___40065

ChinMusic
10-07-2008, 17:04
You will be more comfortable with two bags (~10-20 and ~30-40), but if you are wanting just one bag, the one LW posted is a good/practical choice.

dessertrat
10-07-2008, 17:24
Yes, the Campmor 20 degree is very popular. If you don't like a mummy bag, they also make a rectangular one that is a bit heavier but will give you more freedom of movement.

Lyle
10-07-2008, 17:35
I would check ebay. Here are two REI sub Kilo's. Rated to 20*. That may be an optomisitc rating based on reviews. I recently bought one used, haven't had a chance to try it out yet.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=280274167709

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=200260725495

Lots of other good bags available if you keep your eyes open. Less than the going price, including Western Mountaineering and Montbell. These are great bags.

If interested in Montbell, this seller has all of the Super Stretch bags available for substantially less than most sellers. These are high-end bags, as are the Western Mountaineering.