PDA

View Full Version : AT related fiction?

Filadelfia Greenberg
10-10-2008, 11:48
Are there any Hiking related magazines or other publications that publish fiction? The reason I ask is that I am writer by trade, and I've written a couple of trail-inspired short stories and poems which I plan to shop around for possible publication. (I'm also working on a play about thru-hiking atm) Anyway, I'd be much obliged if anyone could point me in the right direction. As this is a Niche market, I'm hoping there might be some publications which aren't mentioned in Writer's Market.

DapperD
10-10-2008, 21:04
Are there any Hiking related magazines or other publications that publish fiction? The reason I ask is that I am writer by trade, and I've written a couple of trail-inspired short stories and poems which I plan to shop around for possible publication. (I'm also working on a play about thru-hiking atm) Anyway, I'd be much obliged if anyone could point me in the right direction. As this is a Niche market, I'm hoping there might be some publications which aren't mentioned in Writer's Market.I don't know offhand about magazines and publications, but I am pretty sure I read that the AT movie "Southbounders" was a fictional account, maybe you can contact the producers of that for some possible information.

generoll
10-10-2008, 21:35
some decent fiction from Bill Bryson.

Ziggy Trek
10-10-2008, 21:53
Backpacker Magazine publishes fiction. Oh... my bad, they call them gear reviews. You probably wouldn't be interested in hacking those.
Try Orion Magazine (http://orionmagazine.org), maybe they are looking for your kind of stuff. Good luck.

weary
10-10-2008, 22:06
some decent fiction from Bill Bryson.
Well, I question the word "decent" but you are right.