PDA

View Full Version : Hiking etiquette?

dan8794
10-13-2008, 21:10
Hi! I'm new to hiking, as well as whiteblaze.net.

I actually just went on my first every hiking adventure. I did 30.7 miles of the AT from Neel's Gap down to Springer as well as the Approach Trail. Needless to say, this is by far the best hobby that I have ever picked up and feel that the money for equipment was well spent and worth it.

One thing I was wondering while hiking the trail concerns right of way.

When hiking, I noticed that a lot of people heading north (we were going south...obviously) would step to the edge of the trail and allow us to pass. I noticed this was usually when we were heading uphill.

What is the common rule about this? Do I allow uphillers to pass or what? I really enjoy hiking and plan on doing much more of it in the future, but want everyone to enjoy their hike, so I want to follow all rules...clearly stated and understood.

A little advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

Marta
10-13-2008, 21:19
As far as I can tell, there's no consensus on hiking rights of way in the east. In California, I was instructed that the uphill hiker has the right of way. More than one person told me this. It seems quite backwards--the uphill hiker being the one who would more than likely appreciate stopping for a moment.

If a hiker is sharing a trail with equestrians, the horses have the right of way.

CherrypieScout
10-13-2008, 21:22
If I'm plugging uphill, stopping to let a "downhiller" pass is a legitimate excuse for a break. Guess that is opposite of your experience.
Hikers can be nice people.

Blissful
10-13-2008, 21:24
Yeah, it just depends. But I have noticed kind gentlemen on many occasions stepping out of the way to let a lady hiker pass. :)

Pedaling Fool
10-13-2008, 21:28