PDA

View Full Version : Bears and dogs

ronniedee
10-23-2008, 11:28
I have a 20 pound dog and a planned 2-nighter in Dupont State Forest in NC in early November. Will I be ok with my dog or should I put her up in a kennel before I go? I've had her out camping locally and she does great, but I'm not sure if she'd pose a risk in bear country this time of the year. She would be leashed 100% of the time and sleeps in the tent with me. I don't think I could depend on her to alert us to the presence of any wildlife, since she's almost a mute.

My preference is to learn to backpack with her since it's a joy to have her out in the woods and I want to avoid the expense and hassle of having to put her up everytime I decide to take a weekender. However, I don't want to cause any unnecessary risks or worry my backpacking buddies either. I'm still learning.

Any insight and advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

ronniedee
10-23-2008, 11:41
Please scratch Dupont SF and insert Pisgah. Don't know why I typed Dupont.

I don't know how to edit my original post.

Thanks,

dessertrat
10-23-2008, 11:58
Bears will probably not come near if you have a dog, no matter what size. It's the smell. I would not, however, let the possibility of bears change your decision of whether to take her or not.

Newb
10-23-2008, 12:12
Any place that bears are hunted by men with dogs you will find that they are VERY shy of canines. If a bear smells a dog it probably won't want to come near enough to see how big Fido is...it will just move along. That being said, don't leave dog-food out overnight.

superman
10-23-2008, 12:33
I agree that bears usually will avoid dogs. They also tend to avoid people. It's the chance meeting that can get interesting. Winter hiked with me on many miles of many trails and even when we saw bear scat we saw no bears...except.