PDA

View Full Version : Dana Design Terraplane

NCYankee
10-30-2008, 08:26
I have a Dana Design Terraplane that I have been carrying for at least 14 years as my primary pack regardless of whether I am going out for a night or two weeks.

I know that everyone gets gear lust but is there anything wrong with carrying this massive 8lb pack for a sectional hike on the AT or would you suggest one of these new high tech light weight deals?

CBSSTony
10-30-2008, 08:45
I like my Terraplane, I don't run down the trail and still believe your gear should be at least as tough as the abuse given to it. Hike your own hike.

KG4FAM
10-30-2008, 08:51
I still carry a Dana Design Bomb Pack. Over 4.5 pounds for 3200 ci, but its comfortable.

kanga
10-30-2008, 08:53
i have a 14 yr old arc light the wind. best pack ever. use it as my winter pack. may be heavy but it will never tear up. it's one of the few pieces of equipment that i can truly rely on. things were always better before china came into the picture...

skinewmexico
10-30-2008, 09:06
I've reached the age where I need all the help I can get, and if I can save 6 pounds with a new pack, I do it. Lots of people trying to make a living in the US making lightweight gear, and I do my best to help them. When it wears out, it wears out, and I replace it. I'd hate to be stuck with old technology that long, as the backpacking industry evolves and improves. The old gear may be bombproof, but I've never been bombed on the trail. YMMV.

The Will
10-30-2008, 09:19
I know that everyone gets gear lust but is there anything wrong with carrying this massive 8lb pack for a sectional hike on the AT or would you suggest one of these new high tech light weight deals?

Nothing wrong with that at all. Whatever suites you, whatever you prefer. The choice is yours.

bigcranky
10-30-2008, 10:00
Nothing wrong with a Terraplane. Great pack. If it works for you, keep on trucking -- er, hiking.