PDA

View Full Version : Maps

wspartykid
03-27-2004, 05:35
I just ordered a set of maps of the whole AT. I'm not planning on heading out till next year but I figured I could plan it out with them by marking every 15 miles as day 1, day 2 and so on. I think this might give me a type of schedule to work with. Is this a pretty good idea, and do most of the thru hikers here take maps with them? I always have a map with me when I'm hiking anywhere even if the trails are well marked. That's another one of my questions too.

Oh yeah, since I've been here I've started allot of new threads with questions. I hope that's cool and not taking up to much room on the server. I search back a little, but I find it easier to ask a question that hasn't recently been asked, and get some responses. Thanks everyone for all the help. And if someone thinks I need to look for a related thread, and add on to it, just let me know here. I'm still new at this but I'll be here allot over the next 10 1/5 months. Thanks again to everyone that's been so helpful so far!!!!

Peaks
03-27-2004, 09:03
It's good to take maps with you. In fact, it should be a no brainer.

But, as far as planning goes, I'd suggest that you use the AT Data Book and the ALDHA Companion.

While you may plan to average 15 miles per day, which is a good figure, your daily mileage will probably vary from zero, or nero, to more than 25. There are many good reasons for this, some of which can not be planned ahead of time, like the weather. Some days you feel like doing the big miles, and on other days, you feel like just hanging out.

So, get the Data Book, and the Companion or Wingfoot, and make a base line schedule, based on what ever assumptions you think are right for your hike, such as 15 miles per day average. That will give you a good indication of where you plan to be when. And it will give you a good indication of where you want to resupply, and the number of days between resupply.