PDA

View Full Version : Boots for winter

hnryclay
11-07-2008, 17:22
Usually I hike in trail runners, or shoes Merril Moab Ventilators at present, and enjoy both the light weight, and breathibility they offer. However I do not like using shoes in the snow, so I am shopping around for some new boots specifically for winter conditions in the south east. So far I have narrowed my shopping to three choices the Lowa Banff (http://www.rei.com/product/719739), Asolo TPS 535 (http://www.rei.com/product/694262), and the Vasque Summit. (http://www.rei.com/product/764062)

I have heard several people recommend these HiTec boots (http://www.rei.com/outlet/product/765668), but in all the reviews on trailspace they are reported to leak, which would make them unsatisfactory for my purpose.

Have any suggestions? please feel free to include them.

Tipi Walter
11-07-2008, 18:44
The Asolos look fine, I've been using goretex Asolos for the last 3 or 4 years and they fit fine with no complaints, though a pair might last me only about 18 months. People will chime in about the pros and cons of full leather vs goretex, etc, but let's face it, after a full week of tromping thru deep snow, no boot will stay dry or keep your feet dry. In the old days when the southeast had snows worth talking about, I found the only thing that kept me comfy and partially dry were a nice pair of Sorel pakboots. With the removable felt liner, they could be upgraded periodically and even when the top leather sections gets frozen, the lower rubber stays flexible. A great boot for winter snows.

Drawback: They are clunky to backpack with, especially uphill. You'll break a sweat climbing a mountain with a pack on your back wearing these babies in 2 feet of snow. But they'd be my choice if I had to stay in wet deep snow for 10 or 15 days. And whatever you do, don't get the crepe style sole, go for the vibram style lugs.

bulldog49
11-08-2008, 18:17