PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum v. Carbon

2009ThruHiker
11-07-2008, 21:13
YOur Thoughts on Aluminum vs. Carbon when it comes to trekking poles...
Aluminum bends...Carbon shatters.... Experiences???

mechanic.mike
11-07-2008, 21:21
How about titanium? Lighter, smaller, and stronger than aluminum, but of course very pricey. I love my ti. leki poles. I have no experience with carbon fiber hiking poles, but when carbon fiber fails it does seem to explode.

trouthunter
11-07-2008, 21:28
You should be fine with either kind under normal use, just like any other piece of gear.

trouthunter
11-07-2008, 21:32
I second Picasso, the map feature that lets people see where the pic was taken really tips the scale for me.

2009ThruHiker
11-07-2008, 21:32
what do u consider normal use? an AT Thru -hike? Or less daily wear and tear?

trouthunter
11-07-2008, 21:35
I second Picasso, the map feature that lets people see where the pic was taken really tips the scale for me.

HAHa, I closed a tab I guess, wrong thread.
My bad.

trouthunter
11-07-2008, 21:42
what do u consider normal use? an AT Thru -hike? Or less daily wear and tear?

Well, yes I would consider everyday use on the AT normal use.

I have done a lot of southern sections, I don't consider the AT to be either rugged or challenging based on my experience, maybe the northern sections are more challenging.

Go do the Blue Wall area (Blue Ridge Escarpment), or the Cumberland Plateau Escarpment area and you will see the difference.

Like I said, maybe the northern sections are tougher, but I don't see any reason to be too concerned.

Egads
11-07-2008, 21:58
5 ounces of carbon for me baby:D

Jim Adams
11-08-2008, 01:49
4' of rebar...doesn't bend or shatter!

geek

Summit
11-08-2008, 08:45