PDA

View Full Version : Poles???

Flatlands Girl
11-09-2008, 19:01
:-?Ok, I am a newbie. My question is this, are poles a "must have" or a "nice to have"? I am planning a thru hike in 2010 and I am trying to find out what I truly need, other than the obvious "top 10". Thanks!!

Oh, I will have my dog tethered to me for the trip, if that makes any difference.....

Bulldawg
11-09-2008, 19:08
Poles are nice, some people say no, some people say yes. I like them to give my arms something to do when my legs are doing all that walking and climbing. They are also nice to have when climbing some wild rock climbs or walking along a log to get out of the muck of a wet trail. Then there are shelters that use poles as their support. I'd say as a thru hiker, if I wasn't a hammocker, I'd definitely use a shelter that relied on hiking poles as their support, making them truly multipurposed.

Lone Wolf
for sure NOT a must have. just a personal choice. i've done 5 thru-hikes plus 6000 other miles and never have and never will use poles

Bulldawg
Oh yeah, have you made plans for your dog through the Smokies?

Whistler
11-09-2008, 20:23
I'd call them "very nice to have" but not at all necessary.
-Mark

Blissful
11-09-2008, 20:27
If you have good knees and strong legs, probably okay without. I saw those in their twenties and under without them. But I like them not only for knees but stability in rocks and uneven terrain. They have more than once prevented ankle sprains for me. I also liked them for the few stream crossings we do have, and they helped me negotiate the ups and downs better.

DavidNH
11-09-2008, 20:28
Yes, Poles are not necessary. But they sure are nice to have. Personally, I would never think of hiking the AT without them!

Here are some of the advantages of trekking poles:
They aid in steep ascents and descents by acting as second pair of limbs.
they are very helpful when crossing streams. Helps to know how deep the water is.